About the IAU XXIX General Assembly

Welcome Video 

US National Organizing Committee for the XXIX General Assembly

The US National Organizing Committee (USNOC) is composed of the members of the US National Committee of the IAU (USNC-IAU), key members of the local faculty and facilities located in Hawaii, and the Executive Officer of the American Astronomical Society, which is the organizing entity for the General Assembly. Membership will shift slightly over time, as members of the USNC-IAU rotate on and off the USNC-IAU. The chair of the USNOC will be the chair of the USNC-IAU. Because of the unique capabilities of the AAS in organizing large conferences, the USNOC is advisory to the AAS and plays a key and important role, ensuring that the best possible General Assembly is held, but is not responsible for organizational logistics as with other General Assemblies.

USNC-IAU Officers

  • Lynne Hillenbrand, Chair, California Institute of Technology
  • Edward F. Guinan, Past Chair, Villanova University
  • Kenneth I. Kellermann, Vice Chair, National Radio Astronomy Observatory
  • G. Fritz Benedict, Secretary, University of Texas, Austin

Representing the AAS Membership

  • Sara Heap, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Arlo Landolt, Louisiana State University and Agricultural Mechanical College
  • David Soderblum, Space Telescope Science Institute

Representing the AAS Council

  • Bruce Balick, University of Washington
  • Steve Kawaler, Iowa State University
  • Kevin B. Marvel, Executive Officer, American Astronomical Society

Representing the NAS Astronomy Section

  • Chryssa Kouveliotou, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center
  • James Moran, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • David Spergel, Princeton University

Ex-Officio Representatives

  • C. Megan Urry, AAS President, Yale University
  • Neil Gehrels, Chair, NAS Astronomy Section, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Christopher McKee, Liaison NAS Astronomy Section, University of California, Berkeley
  • Robert E. Williams, IAU Past President, Space Telescope Science Institute
  • Michael Witherell, Chair Board on Physics and Astronomy, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • John Hildebrand, NAS Foreign Secretary, University of Arizona

Local Organizing Committee (LOC), Hawaii

  • Roy Gal, Chair, Institute for Astronomy
  • Debbie Goodwin, W. M. Keck Observatory
  • Shadia Habbal, Institute for Astronomy
  • Guenther Hasinger, Institute for Astronomy
  • Saeko Hayashi, Subaru Telescope
  • Stewart Hunter, Mauna Kea Visitor Information Station
  • Markus Kissler-Patig, Gemini Observatory
  • Ka’iu Kimura, Imiloa Astronomy Center
  • Michael Maberry, IfA Maui/Haleakala
  • Nadine Manset, Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope
  • David Sanders, Institute for Astronomy
  • Mike Shanahan, Bishop Museum
  • Alan Tokunaga, Infrared Telescope Facility

The American Astronomical Society is honored to be the host organization on behalf of the US astronomy community and the University of Hawaii's Institute for Astronomy for the XXIX General Assembly of the International Astronomical Union. All members of the USNOC look forward to the meeting and welcome our colleagues from around the world to Honolulu in August 2015. Aloha!