slideshow 1 slideshow 2- slideshow 3 slideshow 4 slideshow 5 slideshow 6 slideshow 10 slideshow 21 slideshow 27 slideshow 28

29th IAU General Assembly

The deadline for submitting proposals for focus meetings and symposia has passed.

3-14 August 2015

Hawai'i Convention Center
1801 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96814

Complimentary Registration Drawing

Enter for a chance to win complimentary registration to the IAU Hawaii General Assembly, and to receive meeting updates.

29th IAU GA Welcome Video

Invitation to attend the 29th IAU General Assembly in Honolulu, Hawaii in August 2015.

US National Organizing Committee for the XXIXth General Assembly

The US National Organizing Committee is composed of the members of the US National Committee of the IAU (USNC-IAU), key members of the local faculty and facilities located in Hawaii, and the Executive Officer of the American Astronomical Society, which is the organizing entity for the General Assembly. Membership will shift slightly over time, as members of the USNC-IAU rotate on and off the USNC-IAU. The chair of the USNOC will be the chair of the USNC-IAU. Because of the unique capabilities of the AAS in organizing large conferences, the USNOC is advisory to the AAS and plays a key and important role, ensuring that the best possible General Assembly is held, while not being responsible for organizational logistics as with other General Assemblies.

All members look forward to the meeting and welcome our colleagues from around the world to Honolulu in August 2015…Aloha!

  • Edward F. Guinan, Chair, Villanova University
  • Roger Chevalier, Past Chair, University of Virginia
  • Lynne Hillenbrand, Vice Chair, California Institute of Technology
  • G. Fritz Benedict, Secretary, University of Texas, Austin
  • Arlo Landolt, Louisiana State University and Agricultural Mechanical College
  • Sara Heap, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Jill Tarter, SETI Institute
  • Bruce Balick, University of Washington
  • Kevin B. Marvel, American Astronomical Society
  • Nicholas B. Suntzeff, Texas A&M University
  • Neil Gehrels, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Ken Kellermann, National Radio Astronomy Observatory
  • David Spergel, Princeton University
  • President, American Astronomical Society: David J. Helfand, Quest University Canada
  • Secretary, American Astronomical Society: G. Fritz Benedict, University of Texas, Austin
  • Chair, NAS Astronomy Section: Marc Davis, University of California, Berkeley
  • Liaison, NAS Astronomy Section: Christopher McKee, University of California, Berkeley
  • Past President, International Astronomical Union: Robert E. Williams, Space Telescope Science Institute
  • Guenther Hasinger, Director, Institute for Astronomy
  • David Sanders, Institute for Astronomy
  • Shadia Habbal, Institute for Astronomy

The American Astronomical Society is honored to be the host organization on behalf of the US astronomy community and the University of Hawaii's Institute for Astronomy for the XXIXth General Assembly of the International Astronomical Union.